Cuthbert’s Store, circa 1888 – This store was established on land owned by William Macintosh who came to Knysna in August 1849 from Kirkcaldy in Scotland. His daughter, Jessie Amelia, ran this shop after the death of her first husband Thomas Armstrong, a forester, in 1888. She married William Patrick Cuthbert, on 4 October 1892, who had come to the Knysna District in 1880, first settling at Kruis Valley. The shop become known as Cuthbert’s Store and was renowned for high quality drapery, groceries and hardware. William Cuthbert, who died in 1917, was a member of the Municipal Council. Jessie continued to run the store until 1922, after which it was run by John Terblanche for his own account.
Knysna River Club is home to Boogies, the restaurant. Open daily for breakfast and dinner, guests can dine on the veranda under the large oak tree or cosy up to the fireplace inside on chilly days. Filled with olde worlde charm and housed in a quaint 1840 Manor House with original yellowwood and Oregon pine floors, the restaurant also boasts a charming pub which offers the opportunity to mingle with other guests.